truckpaster.blogg.se

Rap genius good am mac miller
Rap genius good am mac miller










In other words, he was everything that Eminem wasn’t. He was smooth, in control, and someone that could make my mom tap her foot just as easily as it made me want to dissect the entirety of his lyrics on Genius. The hardly-tatted-at-the-time young man just breathed energy through his swagger, and his vibrant flow was unlike anything I’d heard up to that point in my young adolescent life.

rap genius good am mac miller

White guys that aren’t Eminem should just stick to the MLB.” Once we got out of school, we walked to his house and I was immediately in complete shock and awe after viewing the YouTube video of “Kool-Aid & Frozen Pizza.” I was immediately stubborn to the idea of another white rapper existing within my playlists, “A white, Jewish rapper? And he’s from Pittsburgh? No way he’ll ever be better than Eminem. My dearest friend, Spencer Weese, introduced me to the idea of him during school. I remember the first time I’d ever heard of Mac Miller in the 7th grade. So I can go anywhere (Anywhere) anywhere (Anywhere) Cali for the kush because boy I know there’s plenty there About to be in music stores everywhere but not yet They can’t understand my concept” “So far, I’ve done pretty well for myself Couple trophies on my shelf, so what else Could I want that I don’t have yet Well, a little more cash and my own fast jet We miss you everyday, my G, and you’ll be in our hearts, minds, and on the tips of our tongues till infinity. RALPH COMPIANO ON K.I.D.S – FACES Before I discuss the inception of my membership in the Mac Miller religion, and my relationship to his music, I’d like to preface this with the fact that I still can’t believe his personal, real-life absence from this Earth is real. He then released his career-changing mixtape K.I.D.S (Kickin’ Incredibly Dope Shit). In 2010, Mac signed with Rostrum Records – the independent Pittsburgh label of Wiz Khalifa and a handful of other local artists. He later reestablished himself as “Mac Miller” in 2009 with the release of mixtapes The Jukebox: Prelude to Class Clown and The High Life.

rap genius good am mac miller

He originally released music under the moniker “Easy Mac”, releasing his debut mixtape But My Mackin’ Ain’t Easy in 2007. He went to a couple of high schools, but graduated from Taylor Allderdice High School – the alma mater of fellow Pittsburgh rapper Wiz Khalifa (an early collaborator/mentor to Mac).Īround the age of fifteen, Mac began to take music seriously. Growing up, Mac was an avid athlete and played football and lacrosse in school. Mac had early aspirations of singing, as well. Mac was a self-taught musician, learning piano, guitar, drums, and bass by six years old. He and his older brother, Miller, were raised Jewish but attended Catholic school growing up (his mom is Jewish and his dad is Christian). His mother was a photographer and his father was an architect. Malcolm McCormick was born on Januin Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. We will dissect his life and evolution, trying our best to articulate what made Malcolm McCormick such a unique and beloved artist. One year after Mac’s untimely passing, fellow writer Ralph Compiano and I have decided to honor Mac as the September Genius of the Month. Luckily for humanity, his art will live on forever. It seems as if Mac Miller blessed the lives of everyone who had the pleasure of meeting or working with him, and he especially blessed the lives of everyone who listened to him.

rap genius good am mac miller

Mac Miller left us entirely too soon, but he is kept very much alive through his timeless discography and his adoring fans, friends, and family. He provided a soundtrack to fit any emotion or occasion a soundtrack to bolster any high or any low. With his five studio albums and thirteen mixtapes, he provided the soundtrack for a generation. He came into the game with fun and cheesy “frat rap” and left it with some of the most beautiful, poetic, and honest music of our time. For anyone who went through adolescence in the 2010s, Malcolm McCormick was right there with them.įirst making a splash in 2011 with anthems such as “Donald Trump” and “Senior Skip Day,” Mac Miller would go on to become one of the most impactful artists of the decade.












Rap genius good am mac miller